Happy New Year!

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

2011 was a dizzy roller coaster ride for me. But I’m happy. Freaking happy, to be honest. A lot of good things happened this year, and I’m really thankful to God for giving me another year of life… and I hope that I would have a productive life when the page of the New Year turns anew again!!!

Anyways, I don’t have yet an exact New Year’s plan…Maybe I’ll just eat with my friends later in the evening! I do sure miss the New Year in the Philippines. New Year is always characterized by tons of food, fireworks, and…injuries! To tell you, a rocket barely missed me by 2 centimeters and exploded half a meter behind me! In addition, I miss the delicious macaroni salad that my mother makes…I miss her!

In addition, an action film (Asiong Salonga: The Manila Kingpin Movie) has won big in this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival (which is banned for foreign films…) Here are the awards:

Best Picture: “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Director: Tikoy Aguiluz, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Supporting Actor: John Regala, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Editor: Jason Cahapay : “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Production Design : Fritz Silorio, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Sound : Mike Idioma, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Musical Scoring: Jessie Lazatin, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best in Sound Track: La Paloma: Ely Buendia, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best in Cinematography, Carlo Mendoza, FSC, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”
Best Screenplay – Roi Iglesias and Rey Ventura, “Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story”

Looking forward to watch this one! I like action movies a lot!

And finally, for the “intellectuals” out there, here are the motions for this year’s WUDC, which is being held in De La Salle:

Round 1: This house would make fathers take paternity leave
Round 2: This house would prevent politicians from making fact claims,that, while not technically lies, are substantially misleading voters.
Round 3: This house would force large companies who leave an area to cover the costs of structural unemployment.
Round 4: This house would require individuals to use all their wealth beyond $5 million for philantrophic projects
Round 5: This house would require deaf parents to send their children, whether deaf or hearing, to mainstream schools for their primary and secondary education
Round 6: This house supports politicians who pass progressive legislation even when it is contrary to the wishes of the democratic electorate
Round 7: This house supports the free movement of labour worldwide
Round 8: This house would exempt academic disputes from defamation
Round 9: This would ban all private healthcare in favour of a comprehensive public healthcare system

The prompts are freaking good!!!I love debate. But I’m not really a good speaker 😀

Anyways, a Happy New Year again!!!

Comments
  1. […] Happy New Year! (earlmguevarra.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

